Skip to content

Ken Buesseler Nominated as AAAS Fellow

Buesseler Elected to Class of 2018 AAAS Fellows

Ken Buesseler of Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. As part of the Section on atmospheric and hydrospheric sciences, Ken Buesseler was elected as an AAAS Fellow for groundbreaking research using radioisotopes to study biogeochemical cycling in the ocean; for leadership in science and outreach after the Fukushima nuclear accident. Ken Buesseler, was elected this year along with Jim Yoder and Sus Honjo at the WHOI. The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. AAAS Fellow’s lifetime honor comes with an expectation that recipients maintain the highest standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity. This year 416 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. This year’s AAAS Fellows were formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on 29 November 2018. The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science ( AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world. The non-profit AAAS ( is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, public engagement, and more. For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert! (, the premier science-news Web site, a service of AAAS. See